The concert program will include the performances of exquisite chamber pieces of Beethoven, Brahms and Chausson. It is a given that these pieces convey the freedom of musical thinking and sensitiveness in approach to the music canvass.

On his path from young years to maturity Beethoven moves away from the Vienna classical school and leans more and more towards free forms and tendencies of romanticism. A short and dynamic string quartet No.11 F minor is written exactly in this innovative tune, and after a hard distress. The composer himself was not confident that his creation would be accepted and understood: “The quartet is written for a small circle of connoisseurs and is not aimed for the attention of broad public”, Beethoven writes to his friend. Similar to many other pieces by the Viennese “titan of spirit”, the F Minor quartet is a reflection of the composer’s inner struggle and the crucial point in his life.

After Beethoven’s death one of the followers of the best traditions of symphonic and chamber music was Johannes Brahms. The distinctive trait of his compositions is precision of each musical phrase. There is a popular quotation of Brahms: “It is not hard to compose but it is wonderfully hard to let the superfluous notes fall under the table…“

Ernest Chausson is one of the best melodists of the 19th century, whose life ended tragically at the height of his creative career. Chausson’s musical salon in Paris used to attract the best people of that age, be it aristocracy, musicians or artists. The pieces of the French composer, full of dramatism, yet written in a light and limpid musical language, became the prelude to impressionism.

Ludwig van Beethoven: String quartet No.11 F minor, op.95

  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Allegretto ma non troppo
  3. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso
  4. Larghetto espressivo. Allegretto agitato

Performers: Michelangelo String Quartet

Ernest Chausson: Concert for violin, piano and string quartet D major, op.21

  1. Decide - Calme
  2. Sicilienne - Pas vite
  3. Grave
  4. Tres anime

Performers: Yamen Saadi (violin, Kronberg Academy scholarship holder and former Barenboim-Said Academy scholarship holder), Mishka Rushdie Momen (piano, Kronberg Academy scholarship holder), Mairéad Hickey (violin, Kronberg Academy scholarship holder), Vashka Delnavazi (violin, Barenboim-Said Academy scholarship holder), Sara Ferrández (viola, scholarship holder of the Karajan Academy), Alexander Warenberg (violoncello, Kronberg Academy scholarship holder)

Johannes Brahms: Piano quartet No.1 G minor, op.25

  1. Allegro
  2. Intermezzo Allegro ma non troppo
  3. Andante con moto
  4. Rondo alla Zingarese. Presto

Performers: Plamena Mangova (piano), Eldbjørg Hemsing (violin), Razvan Popovici (viola), Kyril Zlotnikov (violoncello)

This concert is presented in cooperation with the FESTIVAL PRO BEETHOVEN – 15. Rolandseck-Festival and the Johannes Wasmuth Association (Johannes-Wasmuth-Gesellschaft e.V.).

Go back




Add a comment

What is the sum of 8 and 2?

Suggest your concert

You want to show your own concert on our website? Or do you want to recommend a great artist?

Contact us, and we get in touch as soon as we can!

Get notifications on your email, so you won't miss any interesting concerts!