Violin sonatas by Beethoven undoubtedly have the status of ground-breaking violin and piano compositions not only within the frames of classics, but also far beyond its boundaries. The equal and lively dialogue between the two instruments was pathbreaking for that time and inspired many composers of past-Beethoven’s epoch. The unrestrainable and furious tune of sonata No.9 A major which the composer dedicated to the French virtuoso violinist Rodolphe Kreutzer impresses the audience up to this day. 

Beethoven's sonata makes an excellent contrast with the other composition in the concert program, a piece by Anton Webern who belonged to the circle of the Second Viennese School. “Four pieces for violin and piano” represent an earlier opus of the Schoenberg’s pupil, in which his later turn to the twelve-tone system is only sensed through denser chromaticism. Sound and dynamic contrasts in the composition are brought to their utmost, which adds greater expression to the music, arresting attention. 

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, born in a musical family in Moldova, is an enchanting enfant terrible of today’s music. Patricia, who walks on stage barefooted, refusing to conform to accepted norms neither for the choice of the program nor for her interpretation of musical pieces, sparkling with energy and fantasy, inevitably enraptures music fans everywhere in the world. Back in her childhood Patricia had the fortune to take violin lessons from the disciple of David Oistrakh himself, and later she continued her musical studies under the direction of the most well-known professors of the Vienna Conservatory.

Young Finnish pianist Joonas Ahonen is a graduate of the Helsinki Sibelius Academy, performing mainly outside of his motherland. His repertoire is quite extensive and includes both Beethoven’s pieces performed in accordance with historical tradition, and first performances of contemporary compositions. Indeed, Anohen is a perfect partner for Kopatchinskaja and for the program of today’s concert.

Anton Webern

Four pieces for violin and piano, op.7

  1. Lentissimo                                  
  2. Presto
  3. Lentissimo
  4. Mosso

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata for violin and piano No.9 A major, op.47 “The Kreutzer Sonata”

  1. Adagio sostenuto - Presto
  2. Andante con variazioni
  3. Finale. Presto

Go back



FlipBooks are a great addition
to any passive income strategy. Because once you create a FlipBook, market it, share it & Earn it, it can technically sell itself.

Learn More


Sehr schön

Susanne Trinkaus

bei allem Respekt vor dem Können der beiden Künstler, finde ich ihre Interpretation grob, gewalttätig und maniriert. An manchen Stellen richtig scheußlich. Man hat das Gefühl, nicht Beethoven steht im Vordergrund, sondern die Interpreten. Hauptsache: extrem. Hauptsache: ICH kann zeigen, was alles auf den Instrumenten möglich ist. Und das zeigen sie durchaus überzeugend. Und die Mehrheit des Publikums findet es natürlich sehr beeindruckend.

Elizabeth Monacelli

Thank you so much for this amazing concert series!
I am a professional violinst in San Diego, California.

Add a comment

What is the sum of 6 and 3?

Suggest your concert

You want to show your own concert on our website? Or do you want to recommend a great artist?

Contact us, and we get in touch as soon as we can!

Get notifications on your email, so you won't miss any interesting concerts!