Violin sonatas by Beethoven undoubtedly have the status of ground-breaking violin and piano compositions not only within the frames of classics, but also far beyond its boundaries. The equal and lively dialogue between the two instruments was pathbreaking for that time and inspired many composers of past-Beethoven’s epoch. The gloomy and dramatic C minor scale of sonata No.7 impresses the audience up to this day.

Beethoven's sonata makes an excellent contrast with the other composition in the concert program, a piece by Arnold Schoenberg, founder and leader of the Second Viennese School. Fantasy for violin and piano was one of Schoenberg’s last pieces. In this piece the composer is crossing self-imposed boundaries of a twelve-tone system that he invented (a composition method based on twelve tones related only between each other). Furthermore, the violin, which undeniably plays the main part in the Fantasy reveals its intense and sensual voice in full strength. 

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, born in a musical family in Moldova, is an enchanting enfant terrible of today’s music. Patricia, who walks on stage barefooted, refusing to conform to accepted norms neither for the choice of the program nor for her interpretation of musical pieces, sparkling with energy and fantasy, inevitably enraptures music fans everywhere in the world. Back in her childhood Patricia had the fortune to take violin lessons from the disciple of David Oistrakh himself, and later she continued her musical studies under the direction of the most well-known professors of the Vienna Conservatory. 

Young Finnish pianist Joonas Ahonen is a graduate of the Helsinki Sibelius Academy, performing mainly outside of his motherland. His repertoire is quite extensive and includes both Beethoven’s pieces performed in accordance with historical tradition, and first performances of contemporary compositions. Indeed, Anohen is a perfect partner for Kopatchinskaja and for the program of today’s concert.

Arnold Schoenberg
Fantasy for violin and piano, op.47 (1949)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Sonata for violin and piano No.47 C minor, op. 30/2 (1802)

  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Adagio cantabile
  3. Scherzo. Allegro
  4. Finale. Allegro

Go back





когда походит время концерта, на картинке появляется треугольник как в Ютубе. Нажимаете и слушаете. Также многие концерты вы может посмотреть на канале в Ютубе


Доброе утро! А как можно посмотреть концерт?

Add a comment

Please add 3 and 7.

Suggest your concert

You want to show your own concert on our website? Or do you want to recommend a great artist?

Contact us, and we get in touch as soon as we can!

Get notifications on your email, so you won't miss any interesting concerts!