BBC Radio 3 unveils the next New Generation Artists

BBC Radio 3 has unveiled the latest list of young musicians to be welcomed onto its prestigious New Generation Artists scheme.

Those joining in September are: British baritone James Atkinson, Kazakh pianist Alim Beisembayev, Georgian pianist Giorgi Gigashvili, Irish mezzo-soprano Niamh O’Sullivan, Swedish soprano Johanna Wallroth, and the Chaos Quartet – whose members are from across Europe. Also part of the new intake is British pianist Michael Pandya – the second collaborative pianist welcomed on the scheme, following Kunal Lahiry in 2021. They remain on the scheme until December 2025, during which time they will have opportunities for both broadcast and live performance.

‘Supporting the development of outstanding young artists as they take the first steps in their career is an absolute privilege for Radio 3,’ said Sam Jackson, Controller BBC Radio 3. ‘We witness the growth of these performers as they appear on prestigious stages across the country and beyond, and are listened to by millions on our airwaves.

‘I really look forward to seeing how they evolve, push boundaries, and create extraordinary performances for us all to enjoy,’ he added.

Launched in 1999, the scheme’s alumni list features many names who have gone on to be the leading artists of our day, including: violinists Lisa Batiashvili, Alina Ibragimova, Janine Jansen and Johan Dalene, trumpeter Alison Balsom, percussionist Colin Currie, harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani, clarinetist Martin Fröst, pianists Benjamin Grosvenor, Steven Osborne, Igor Levit and Paul Lewis, guitarist Sean Shibe, baritone Benjamin Appl and soprano Fatma Said.


Back to the news overview