To watch this concert you need to have the Classic@Home Premium access.

Get notifications on your email, so you won't miss any interesting concerts!


The concert is broadcasted in memory of the outstanding cellist Alexander Bouzlov who passed away at the age of only 37 on 8th November, 2020.

“Only art that withheld me, ah it seemed impossible to leave the world until I had produced all that I felt called upon me to produce…“ (Ludwig van Beethoven, Heiligenstadt Testament, 1802) 

Serenity and despair, lyricism and tragedy: Beethoven’s Second symphony is a most interesting piece from which one can perfectly sense the composer’s frame of mind. For one hand, there is splendor and glory: Beethoven wrote the Second symphony at the height of his fame, both as a pianist and as a composer, ranged only with 70-year-old Haydn, and the best publishing houses of Austro-Hungary competed to publish his new pieces. Beethoven was accepted among and welcomed by aristocracy, he enjoyed the favours of high society ladies, whom the composer, sensitive to female beauty, courted passionately. What else one can wish for, it seems!..

On the other hand, the bouts of hearing loss which Beethoven already suffered from for some time become more frequent. Hoping to cure, the composer upon the advice of his doctor spends a summer on the Heiligenstadt resort from May to October 1802, but hearing does not get restored, and Beethoven has to accept this bitter truth, and also imagine (in terror) what his future life would be. The composer describes his feelings in the letter to his brothers (the so-called Heiligenstadt Testament) – and in the Second symphony Beethoven grieves, yet his courage does not leave him: „You should then see me as happy as I am ever destined to be here below – not unhappy. No! that I could not endure; I will boldly meet my fate, never shall it succeed in crushing me“.

In the course of BEET250VEN Festival the Second symphony will be performed in a rare transcription for the piano trio played by Alissa Margulis (violin), Alexander Bouzlov (cello) and Andrey Denisenko (piano).

Symphony No.2 D major, op.36 (1801-1802)

  1. Adagio molto — Allegro con brio
  2. Larghetto
  3. Scherzo. Allegro
  4. Allegro molto

Go back



Sehr schön, sehr traurig.



Add a comment

Please add 9 and 9.